Just Want To Make You Smile…Yes, YOU!

Hey there again!

I know, I know, I know. I know what you’re going to say. It’s been a long time since my last post and I was even working on a review for a product that I absolutely love using in SL. However, over the last couple of weeks or so, I have been on one Hell of an emotional rollercoaster ride and I simply lost track of time.

“There was more than one point during that time that I thought I was even going to lose my mind. And to be honest, I almost did.”

If it’s one thing I’ve learned about Second Life, it’s that your emotions run right the way through it, regardless as to whether you want them to or not, hence the reason why I avoid using the term ‘game‘ when describing it. There are people that I talk to and spend time with every single day, more than I do with anyone I know in RL. With the exception of certain RP, and games within SL itself, there are no levels, there are no achievements, there are no high scores – Just you, your avatar, and your personality. Your ‘game’ is what you bring in world yourself, while influenced by those you choose to spend your time with.

Too often, we are so immersed in our virtual worlds and we can forget that our choices are our own; nobody can rule over you unless you believe they can, and you allow them to do so. It is far too easy to forget that we can simply press that power button or close the lid and walk away. Actually, thinking about it, it’s probably one of the hardest things to do if you enjoy SL as much as my family and I do. I, myself, am very well known for actually sleeping in world… No joke. Whatever you may think about SL, I enjoy the comfort of company of others, even if they are thousands of miles away. I know some of you reading this will understand exactly what I mean.

After the breakup from my partner, I felt incredibly lost and really didn’t know what to do with myself. My entire SL was based around her and our life together. And suddenly being without the family that I’d always dreamed of was something that I found difficult to get my head around. I was back to being a single guy with no kids and I wasn’t sure how to deal with that.

So I invested my time into creating a sim with a mishmash of many different interests – I was desperate to keep myself busy; keep my mind off of everything that had happened while I allowed myself to heal. So with a full region ready to go, I built, decorated, and brainstormed ideas. I created the groups and even learned the basic skills to DJ after wanting to for many years. (It’s much simpler than I had ever imagined it to be btw! And it’s so much fun!) Beach party!! Oh, and of course, I had to purchase a very special tool for specifically themed nights that I think people will get a kick out of when they experience it!

There’s that word again – ‘experience’.¬†Second Life offers many experiences and there are a lot of different themes and genres, so to speak, and it was my intention to do my best to cater for them all.

We have a mall that is up and running with three gacha resale stores and a clothes store. There are hopes for clothing for your Zooby’s to available in the near future. If you don’t have the furniture for your kids, there’s a daycare centre with everything that you need to ensure your little one is cared for, as well as a playground where your older ones can have fun.

ChapmanMallLogoPromo.png

I have played my part in the Bloodlines game since I first came online many years ago and while we have no clan on land, we wanted to make it Bloodlines friendly. So we also have a Bloodlines store with a tank and prism to fill up should you feel thirsty or faded, as well as the vendors for other desirable items within the game.

Life2 is something that I have recently come to discover and we have a grocery store open 24/7 for everyone to use if they’re running low. There has been a discussion about a hotel building with furniture to use when you need them, so there’s no need to panic and dash off not knowing where the nearest functioning toilet is…!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I would like to think that Chapman Estate is not your average sim. There’s no police department, there’s no fire department, there’s no hospital, there’s no weapons. It’s all about community, fun, and exploring; somewhere that people from all walks of life can feel welcome and safe. And with the rentals of luxury homes built and ready to go, a playground for the kids, a mall, a club (which we are hiring for – newbies included!), breedables, fishing, and so much more, we strive for a healthy, happy community. It’s not about the money; not at all. We all come into SL looking for something, regardless as to whether we know what that is or not, but my goal is simply to make others happy. If I can do that, I have succeeded.

Come give us a look; we not only welcome you, but also your input. Every little helps!

CHAPMAN ESTATE

E.C.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

